Rumination by the Sea

stone-hand.jpg

Today the temperature rose into the 60s. The wind still blew but it was a warm wind, that set the sands to dancing across tiny polished pebbles and shell bits on beach of South Topsail Island that faces the quieter waters of the intracoastal waterway. Lots of people stood or sat, fishing and chatting, children played, and it felt almost like summer.At lunchtime, we took a sandy little white dog and our picnic of turkey-cheese-spinach wraps (with a little bit of lingon berry sauce), over to the surf side of South Topsail. Rows of waves curled white and turquoise far out on the beach, as human figures came and went, some purposefully running, some dawdling along the wave-edges, some standing in small conversational clusters. I’d bought a bubble wand at the camp store and flapped it back and forth, until I learned to simply hold it out and let the wind blow streams of
bubbles

bubbles-beach.jpg

While Bruce and Sprocket walked, I sat in a back support mat, reading ‘A New Earth’ by Eckhart Tolle. Oprah is beginning a live, online course Monday night on this book; supposedly the largest internet class enrollment ever. An online workbook with homework assignments is provided as well. I like what the book has to say. I’m about half through, and so far it’s nothing I haven’t read somewhere before about ego and consciousness, but he puts things together with new and gentle clarity. Without judgment or persuasion, he presents wisdom that could help make a quiet, but major shift (to the better) in the way human beings perceive themselves and their world. What intrigues me most, and why I’m going to participate in the course, is that a book about raising humanity’s consciousness will be given exposure to thoughtful readers all over this planet, simultaneously, for the next ten Mondays, and that is an astounding concept!

So, as I read and occasionally looked up at the passing strangers on the vast, sunlit, surreal plane of sand and water, I ruminated on our shared nature and potential. I thought of Donovan’s delightful song, ‘Happiness Runs in a Circular Motion’. Here are the lyrics:

Little pebble upon the sand
Now you’re lying here in my hand,
How many years have you been here?
Little human upon the sand
From where I’m lying here in your hand,
You to me are but a passing breeze.
The sun will always shine where you stand
Depending in which land
You may find yourself.
Now you have my blessing, go your way.
Happiness runs in a circular motion
Thought is like a little boat upon the sea.
Everybody is a part of everything anyway,
You can have everything if you let yourself be.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs in a circular motion
Thought is like a little boat upon the sea.
Everybody is a part of everything anyway,
You can have everything if you let yourself be.

It can be sung (fittingly) as a round, and if you’ve never heard it, it’s worth a listen. I googled for the album it’s from but couldn’t find it, but I’m sure it can be downloaded. When we finally arrive in Mill Valley, I plan to sing it to our grandchildren, Skye and Quinn.

Explore posts in the same categories: Beaches

2 Comments on “Rumination by the Sea”

  1. Linda Reisch Hulley Says:

    Lena & Bruce,

    What a joy to be following you as you journey along. Your words are gently stirring memories of years passed and longings to again be friends in the same space! Thanks for the info on the internet online course. I also feel the same way you do about the book and hope that many people become excited about its substance. Great photo of your hand, Lena! That’s one of two human features I never forget, hands and eyes. I still remember your hands gesturing as you shared stories with me and if I wasn’t looking in your eyes, I was captured by your hands.

    Love to you both,
    Linda Loo

  2. Judith Says:

    Lena, I’m just catching up on your last few days of blog. Really enjoyed these wonderful descriptions of the beach.

    My memory of Donovan’s song is that it says:

    Love is like a little boat upon the sea . . .
    and
    All your thoughts are deeper than you fancy . . .

    But maybe he said both your lyrics and mine. Thank you for reminding me of that lovely song–I had to sing it as I read the lyrics. You are very good at reminding us of delights that we may have forgotten.

    –Back to reading your recent posts.

    Love
    J


Leave a Reply

